Empathy?

by Looking for Blue Sky

It’s 6 am in the morning, and a little head appears around the bedroom door. It’s CD, my 9-year old with Asperger’s Syndrome.

“Mum, can I get up now, please?”

“Yes, of course, you can.”

Then he takes a few more steps, and leans over and gives me a hug.

“You know, if you’re sick or it’s a special day, I’ll give you a much bigger hug than this.”

“Thank you!”

“You’re welcome.”

“You know, that’s a really lovely thing to say.”

A slightly baffled silence and then:

“You’re 100% welcome!”

With that he leaves the room and goes downstairs. All is quiet so I get a bit more sleep.

Perhaps this sounds like a normal exchange in your house, but for us, this is just amazing. It’s only in the past few weeks that CD has decided that it is safe to go downstairs on his own. Often the day would start with him screaming and cursing at me from his room because he did not wake up at the ‘correct’ time. So I recently got him an alarm clock that he can set himself. Also, hugs from CD have not featured in my life for a long time, and I have really missed them.

I think today is going to be a really good day. 😀

About the Author: Looking for Blue Sky describes herself as a “mammy to three wonderful children who are all very different — one fab teen, one gorgeous girl with cerebral palsy, and one amazing boy with Asperger’s.” This piece first appeared on her blog, Looking for Blue Sky, and is reprinted here by permission.

Share

